Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu Vice President of India

Shri M Venkaiash Naidu, The Vice President of India (11-08-2017 to 10-08-2022)

Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu is an Indian politician serving as the 13th and current vice president of India since 11 August 2017. Previously, he served as the minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Urban Development and Information and Broadcasting in the Modi Cabinet.

A prominent leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, he also served as the party’s national president from 2002 to 2004. Earlier, he was the Union Cabinet Minister for Rural Development in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. He took the oath as the vice president of India and the chairman of the Rajya Sabha (ex-officio as the Vice President) on 11 August 2017. His term will expire on 10 August 2022.

Important Details

Name: Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu
Father’s Name Late Shri Rangaiah Naidu
Mother’s Name Late Shrimati Ramanamma
Date of Birth 1 July 1949
Place of Birth Chavatapalem, Distt. Nellore (Andhra Pradesh)
Marital Status Married on 14 April 1970
Spouse’s Name Shrimati M. Usha
Children One Son and One daughter
Educational Qualifications B.A., B.L. (Educated at V.R. High School, Nellore; V.R. College, Nellore and Law College, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam)
Profession Agriculturist/Farmer, Political and Social worker
Permanent Address Plot No. 514, Road No. 29, Jubilee Hills Hyderabad-500033 (Telangana)

Present Address

Vice-President’s House
6, Maulana Azad Road,
New Delhi – 110 011
Telephone – 011-23016422, 23016344
E-mail: [email protected]

Positions Held

1971 : President, Students’ Union, V.R. College, Nellore;
1973-74 : President, Students’ Union, Andhra University Colleges;
1974 : Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Kshatra Sangharsha Samiti of Andhra Pradesh;
1977-80 : President, Youth Wing of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh;
1978-85 : Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh;
1980-83 : Vice-President, Youth Wing of All India B.J.P.;
1980-85 : Leader, B.J.P. Legislature Party in Andhra Pradesh;
1985-88 : General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State B.J.P.;
1988-93 : President, Andhra Pradesh State Unit of B.J.P.;
1993-Sept. 2000 : General Secretary, All India B.J.P.;
April 1998 : Elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (first term);
30 Sept. 2000 – 30 June 2002 : Minister of Rural Development
July 2002-Dec. 2003 : National President, B.J.P.;
Jan. 2004-Oct. 2004 : National President, B.J.P. (second term);
July 2004 : Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (second term);
April 2005-Jan. 2006 : Senior Vice-President, B.J.P.;
Jan. 2006-July 2017 : Member, Parliamentary Board of B.J.P. and Central Election Committee;
Sept. 2006-Sept. 2009 : Chairman, Committee on Petitions;
Aug. 2009-May 2014 : Chairman, Committee on Home Affairs;
July 2010 : Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (third term) (resigned w.e.f. 23 June 2016);
Dec. 2011-May 2014 : Vice-President, Parliamentary Forum on Disaster Management;
26 May 2014-5 July 2016 : Minister of Urban Development; Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs;
July 2016 : Elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan (fourth term) (resigned w.e.f. 10 August 2017);
5 July 2016-17 July 2017 : Minister of Urban Development; Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; and Minister of Information and Broadcasting;
May 2017 – April 2018 : President of the UN Habitat and presided over the deliberations of 58 – member Governing Council
11 August 2017 onwards : Vice-President of India and Ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha
The Vice President as Chancellor / Visitor of Universities :
Chancellor (Ex-Officio) – Delhi University
Chancellor (Ex-Officio) – Panjab University
Chancellor – Pondicherry University
Visitor (Ex-Officio) – Makhanlal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidhyalaya, Bhopal (Established by an Act of the Government of Madhya Pradesh In 1990
The Vice President as President / Chairman of the Institutes / Committees :
President (Ex-Officio) of The Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA), Delhi
President (Ex-Officio) of The Indian Council of World Affairs (ICWA), Delhi
Chairman of the Selection Committee of Prasar Bharti Board (As Per Prasar Bharti Broadcasting Corporation Of India Act, 1990) for selection of the Members of the Board
Chairman of the Committee for selection of Chairman of The Press Council of India (As Per Section 5 (2) of The Press Council Act, 1978)
The Vice President as Chairman of Juries / Selection Committees for various Award :
Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (Jury Constituted by Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs)
International Gandhi Award for Leprosy (Jury Constituted by Gandhi Memorial Leprosy Foundation- Wardha Under Ministry of Health and Family Welfare)
National Communal Harmony Award (Jury Constituted by Ministry of Home Affairs)
Dr. Ambedkar International Award for Social Change (Jury Constituted by Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment)
Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding (Jury Constituted by Ministry of External Affairs)

Books Published

Articles in newspapers on the subjects of political and public interests and books
‘Moving on…Moving forward: A Year in Office’
‘Selected Speeches of Venkaiah Naidu : Volume 1’
‘Listening, Learning and Leading’ A chronicle of the Vice President of India’s two Years in office
Connecting, Communicating, Changing……Vice President’s third year in office

Other interests

Agriculture and social work; motivating voluntary organizations, engaged in constructive work in fields of agriculture, health, vocational education & training, animal care etc.
Reading, educating and motivating people

Countries visited

Before August 2017
U.S.A., U.K., Malaysia, Singapore, France, Belgium, The Netherlands, Australia, Mauritius, Maldives, Thailand, South Korea, Spain, Italy, Germany, Egypt, Dubai (U.A.E.), Hong-Kong, Cambodia and Austria
After August 2017
• May 05-14, 2018 – Guatemala, Panama and Peru
• September 07-11, 2018 – Chicago (U.S.A. ) -Chief Guest at the Second World Hindu Congress to mark the 125th Anniversary of Swami Vivekananda’s Historic Speech at the Parliament of the World’s Religions in 1893.
• September 14-21, 2018 – Serbia, Malta and Romania
• October 17-20, 2018 – Brussels (Belgium) – Represented India at ASEM12 SUMMIT
• October 31-November 06, 2018 – Botswana, Zimbabwe and Malawi
• November 09-12, 2018 – Paris (France ) – Represented India at Armistice Centenary and Paris Peace Forum and inaugurated the Indian war Memorial at Villers-Guislain
• March 04-11, 2019 – Paraguay and Costa Rica
• May 09-12, 2019 – (Hanoi) Vietnam – Address the UN International Day of Vesak Celebration as Keynote Speaker
• August 17-22, 2019 – Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia
• October 10-15, 2019 – Comros and Sierra Leone
• October 24-26, 2019 – Azerbaijan -Represented India at NAM Summit

Honoris Causa

Conferred Doctorate for contribution in the Rule of Law, democracy and sustainable development by the University for Peace on March 08, 2019 at Costa Rica
Conferred ‘the order of the Green Crescent’, the highest civilian honour of Comoros on 11 October, 2019 by President of Comoros

Other Information

Was Chairman, Students’ Union at College and also in University; imprisoned under M.I.S.A. during the Emergency, 1975-77; was Secretary, (i) B.J.P. Parliamentary Board and (ii) B.J.P. Central Election Committee; Spokesman, B.J.P., 1996-2000


Leave a Comment